On Monday, August 5 th , the winners of the annual Door County Mariner Awards and Coast Guard Person of the Year Award were announced at the Sturgeon Bay Yacht Club. BM1 Andrew Michaels won the Coast Guard Person of the Year Award. Bob Perlewitz was recognized with the Mariner Award, while Clifford B. Hart and Arthur (Art) Zuehlke received Posthumous Mariner Awards.
The Coast Guard Person of the Year Award recognizes a local Coast Guard member who exemplifies the Guard’s core values of Honor, Respect and Devotion to Duty. The award is sponsored by the Sturgeon Bay Coast Guard Committee, the Greater Green Bay Chapter of the U.S. Navy League, Sturgeon Bay Yacht Club and the Door County Maritime Museum. The winner is selected from nominees submitted by the USCGC Mobile Bay (WTGB 103), USCG Marine Safety Detachment Sturgeon Bay and USCG Station Sturgeon Bay. 
Presented jointly by the Door County Maritime Museum and the Sturgeon Bay Yacht Club, the Mariner Award recognizes individuals who have had a significant, positive, lasting impact on the Door County maritime community. The Mariner Award is given to one living recipient and also posthumously to historical Door County maritime figures.
To view all the winners, click here