Since we first opened our door in the early 1970s, our facilities have grown to include the Gills Rock museum, complete with a fishing shanty and the retired fish tug Hope, operations at the historic Cana Island Lighthouse, built in 1869; the 22,000-square-foot, four-gallery museum in Sturgeon Bay; and an in-water exhibit, the 1919 tugboat John Purves. And we continue to grow, accommodating exciting new exhibits such as “Pirates!,” “Ghosts!,” “Freshwater Fury” and “Sea Dogs.” We also host eagerly anticipated community events like the Lighthouse Festival, Classic & Wooden Boat Festival, and Merry-Time Festival of Trees.
Every step of the way, we ensure that our guests have unparalleled, enriching experiences with local maritime history and lore — and that we fully engage the next generation. Indeed, we have become one of Northeast Wisconsin’s top tourism destinations, attracting tens of thousands of visitors annually and earning important recognition from state and community leaders.
Additional Tower Project Information
- Become a Supporter
- A Proud Record
- The Challenge & Solution
- The Maritime Tower Experience
- For the Local Community:
- For Inland Maritime Industries:
- Potential Tower Exhibits
- A Brief History of the Door County Maritime Museum
- Celebration and Preservation of Maritime History