The Death’s Door Maritime Museum in Gills Rock hosts a new exhibit entitled From-Net-To-Table. The photography exhibit highlights the people who are part of the contemporary Door County commercial fishing industry, Door County’s contribution to the culinary and cultural landscape of Wisconsin.
Gills Rock Museum
Designed by it’s original owner, Walter F. Koken, as a pleasure boat for his family, the “Berylune” was built in 1917 by the Jepson Boat Works on Washington Island.
Visitors can see artifacts from various dives and wrecks including W.L. Brown, Riverside, R.J. Hackett, Niagra, Amoit, Berwyn, Sardinia, Plymouth and Carrington.
We have several outboard motors, and fishing vessel motors. We have three Kahlenberg engines dating as far back as 1910. The newest addition to the engines is a 1917 Kahlenberg that was fully restored by Kurt Krueger. The engine sat outside for more than 25 years. It is originally off the fishing tug King in Ellison Bay, … continue reading
Our Shipwrecks exhibit features information and artifacts from shipwrecks including the Edmund Fitzgerald, the Louisiana, and Fleetwing. The Edmund Fitzgerald was built in 1958 in the Great Lakes Engineering Works in Michigan. On November 10 , 1975, the Edmund Fitzgerald was lost along with her crew of 29 men in Lake Superior 17 miles … continue reading